Extreme Arizona DUI Penalties Fines and Laws

The penalties for an extreme DUI are different based on the specific circumstances of each case, as well as differ in each state. An extreme DUI is applied when a person has a blood alcohol content above .15%. You should immediately contact a Tucson DUI attorney if you are suspected of driving under the influence or are being charged with an extreme DUI. If you have made the mistake of drinking and driving in Arizona and are pulled over by law enforcement, here are some of the possible fines and penalties you could face if charged with an extreme DUI:

First Extreme DUI with BAC above .15%
This charge is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
JAIL: The maximum jail sentence is 6 months, while the minimum jail sentence is 30 days.
FINE AND COSTS: Minimum fine of $2,500 plus an additional $250 assessment to the Arizona DUI abatement fund, $1,250 toward the prison construction fund, and $1,000 to public safety equipment. Total amount: Exceeds $2,700, not including jail costs and legal fees.
LICENSE: You driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. You may be eligible for restricted driver’s license after 30 days of the suspension has passed, after completion of an alcohol screening. This restricted license, also called a work permit, will allow you to only drive to and from work, school or treatment.
COUNSELING: The number of counseling hours required as part of your sentence is determined by the alcohol screening agency. Once the program is completed, a portion of the jail sentence may possibly be suspended.
PROBATION: Probation could last for up to five years
INTERLOCK DEVICE: An interlock device is required for a minimum of 12 months.

Second Extreme DUI with BAC above .15%
This charge is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
JAIL: 120 days in jail
FINE AND COSTS: $500 fine plus a surcharge of 87% ($935 total). Two assessments at $1,250 each: one to the prison construction and operations fund and the other to the public safety equipment fund, plus an additional assessment of $250. Total amount: Exceeds $3,700, not including jail costs and legal fees.
LICENSE: Your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. You may be eligible for an Interlock Device and restricted driver’s license after 45 days of the revocation has passed, after completion of an alcohol screening. This restricted license, also called a work permit, will allow you to only drive to and from work, school or treatment. But you must have the Ignition Interlock Device in any vehicle that you operate.
COUNSELING: Required
COMMUNITY RESTITUTION: Minimum of 30 hours
PROBATION: Probation could last for up to five years
INTERLOCK DEVICE: Required

Felony DUI (3rd DUI within 7 years, or with DUI license suspended or restricted)
These charges are based on a clean felony record. This sentence may be enhanced if there were any historical priors existing.
This charge is considered a Class 4 Felony.
JAIL: A DUI conviction under this section could potentially carry more than 10 years in prison. 4 months in prison is the mandatory minimum before eligibility for probation, pardon, commutation, and suspension of sentence or release on any other basis.
FINE AND COSTS: UP TO $150,000 fine plus a surcharge and an additional $250 assessment to the Arizona DUI abatement fund, additional $1,500 assessment for arrests after March 13, 2004.
LICENSE: Your driver’s license will be revoked for three years.
COUNSELING: If probation is granted by the sentencing Court, you will be required to submit to treatment.
PROBATION: Probation could last for up to ten years.
VEHICLE: If you owned if the vehicle you were driving at the time of the DUI arrest, the court may take your vehicle.

If you are suspected of a DUI, you should seek legal representation as soon as possible. The Tucson DUI lawyers at Thrush Law Group will concentrate their efforts on defending you with a diligent approach that offers the best chance of dismissal or acquittal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *